Past Award Winners

The Women In Business Award

The Women in Business (WIB) award recognizes a woman who demonstrates leadership which has led to job creation, innovation, and increased business acumen. The award also recognizes her impact on the community at large, including fundraising, volunteering, and other contributions

Previous recipients of this award are:

2019 – Monika Carmichael, Trent Valley Honda
2018 – No award*
2017 – No award*
2016 – Gwyneth James, Cody & James Chartered Professional Accountants
2015 – Amy Simpson, MicroAge
2014 – Kerri Davies, Canadian Mental Health Association HKPR
2013 – Kyla Gutsche, Cosmetic Transformations
2012 – Sally Harding, Nightingale Nursing
2011 – Sheridan Graham, The County of Peterborough
2010 – Jean Grant, The Toy Shop
2009 – Kathy Windrem, BDO Canada
2008 – Mary LaRocque, Marlin Travel
2007 – Tina Johnston, Fandango Spa
2006 – Kim Paget, Paget Dental
2005 – Jeannine Taylor, Kawartha Now
2004 – Helen Hamilton, Costume King
2003 – Gail Courneyea, Angels of Flight



The Judy Heffernan Award

Judy Heffernan was a tireless promoter of the entrepreneurial dreams and passions of women, young and old. Judy acted as a catalyst who empowered and motivated women to have the courage to pursue their dreams of becoming entrepreneurs. She was the conduit who connected women and advocated on their behalf. The award will be given to an entrepreneur, mentor or student who embodies Judy’s legacy of humbly helping others succeed.

Previous recipients of this award are:

2019 – Kim Appleton
2018 – No award*
2017 – No award*
2016 – Louise Racine
2015 – Sofie Andreou

*Both the Women in Business Award (previously known as the Business Woman of the Year Award) and the Judy Heffernan Award (previously known as the Judy Heffernan Memorial Award) were organized by the Peterborough Examiner until 2016. The Women’s Business Network of Peterborough assumed accountability for both awards in 2019.